Letters…

And so I’m listening to Backstreet Boys on Youtube. It reminds me of the 1996, where life is so much better.

The letters I’m talking about is ‘Rejection Letters’ from a bunch of dearest literary agents. As predicted, I’m receiving it more than my employment contracts this year. I’ve made a pack to print them the moment I’ve got signed by a literary agent. Then, my number one step into the route of publication is done.

I’m not going to blog how they behaved when they don’t respond (even they promised to do so on their submission website) to e-mail reminders. So far no rude response from them, which I’m grateful for. At least they’re being professional. I’ve sent to 10 agents in mid-May and received three uniformed letters, and one, which addressed to my name. I truly appreciate the later, and at the same time I don’t expect a lot from them because most of them have a handful of existing bestsellers under their belt, though they still open to new authors. The rest of them that I’ve yet to hear, I’ll take it as a no as I have to move on.

For the second batch, I picked 14 of them and so far I’ve gotten two uniformed letters. I’m just like carrying a basket full of denial, walking around hoping I’ll get signed on…One day.

Should you ask me what if I still can’t get an agent. What’s next for me?

Like mind over matters, tell yourself the following that the agent…

1) …has mood (no offence, but they’re still human)
2) …has just signed someone that’s of similar to your work
3) …thinks your project doesn’t fit his or hers
5) …couldn’t relate to your style of writing (Remember: Writing is a very subjective approach)
6) …is busy with their existing clients
7) …has too many queries to handle, so they pick what’s fit for them
8) …just not interested
9) …realises your work has no place for publication (for that moment)
10) …doesn’t know how to sell your work

But NEVER EVER give up.

I’m like an aspiring musician sending her demos to all over recording companies, hoping for the best to come and then playing in some jazz club or coffee house at night. No, I’m not the kind of person that go for competition, or any writing challenge, whatsoever.

Until the day I finally signed on, I’ll post around my social network and shout from the rooftop.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

Yangsze Choo

Likes to eat and read

bjsscribbles

“Trusting God turns the deepest crisis into the highest praise.”

Random Musings

Poetry by Pooja Alok

cantoneseinorge

Keeping Cantonese alive in Norway

Graham Lawrence

Publisher, Editor, Teacher, Trainer, Designer and Educational Administrator

Sincerely, Shalom

我除了與我的根重新連結, 也種植我的新生活。

My Hong Kong Husband

Third culture wife: Polish girl married to a Hongkonger, fresh off the airplane in Ireland. AMWF, lifestyle, culture, food, Asian fashion and a little bit of Cantonese

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

