Poem: Writer’s Gap (Part I)

Boycott GAP to loosen the gap!
Wear GAP to kill creativity!

Clear the blockage of facet!
Halving cerebral like peaches pie!

Fingers typing lollapalooza!
Split-ends hair takes no pity!

What a ridiculous thought!
The effect of rejection letters!

Hard copies in your mailbox!
The editor said to you!

‘Pass the first submission
kick out in round two deliberation!’

So my work is a pain!
Then why should you write back!

Soft copies inside electronic inbox!
Unless you print it! Why bother!

Collection for your grand-children!
Suckling, discouraging rejections!

Better still! Recycle! Delete!
Feed the sewage underground!

7 thoughts on “Poem: Writer’s Gap (Part I)

  1. t h i n g s + f l e s h August 24, 2013 at 2:17 am Reply

    you vent so eloquently … tony

    • Deborah Wong August 24, 2013 at 10:29 am Reply

      Thanks Tony. I’ve kept this long enough, until recently. Think I just have to rant it out, with courteous.

  2. cho wan yau August 25, 2013 at 10:08 am Reply

    Language is for communication, so rant away to your heart’s content. I know I do and it is very therapeutic, beats visiting the therapist!

    • Deborah Wong August 25, 2013 at 10:12 am Reply

      Thanks a lot Cho Wan. Another sweet rejection letter I’ve received this sunny-turned gloomy Sunday morn.

      • cho wan yau August 29, 2013 at 6:45 am

        E-book/self publishing, cut out the middle man? No more sweet rejection letters. Go Kid Go.

      • Deborah Wong August 30, 2013 at 11:44 am

        I get what you mean. No more rejections and I get to be my own boss. Let’s hope that that one day will come. 🙂 And thanks for booking in EVEN before it’s complete. 🙂

  3. cho wan yau August 26, 2013 at 4:39 am Reply

    What about self publishing and e-books? They are all the craze now. Even established poets/writers are increasingly choosing this paperless more environmentally friendly channel. No more sweet rejection letters darling Deborah cos you are your own boss/editor etc. Give me a shout when the deed is done and I’ll be the first in line to purchase from Amazon.

Leave a comment

Random Musings

Poetry by Pooja Alok

cantoneseinorge

Keeping Cantonese alive in Norway

Graham Lawrence

Publisher, Editor, Teacher, Trainer, Designer and Educational Administrator

Ka Man Mak

creative exploration within writing, photography and other projects

Sincerely, Shalom

我除了與我的根重新連結, 也種植我的新生活。

My Hong Kong Husband

Polish girl married to a Hongkonger, based in Hong Kong

Damyanti Biswas

For lovers of reading, crime writing, crime fiction