Poem: Stiletto Named Denim

Dedicated to my ex-flame and Eileen of A Sleeping Haiku

I saw it, a beautiful one. But the price a killer; you took it and asked me not to look at the Ringgit and put it on

You loved the open toes concept; you want me to wear only this. Others will get your discrimination. You took the photo; uploaded to your screensaver

But it chained my movements, my ankles break, I refused to wear after the first fall, you blamed me for wasting

The straps were murderer, unable to ignore. You promised to walk the miles with me and carry me home…

And now I’ve lived with regret, I should have worn it a little longer. Shouldn’t make the decision that quick, should have…

How stupid could I be? Listen to your spellbinding words. Avalanche of emptiness, only pointing fingers

At me, on me and to me – endlessly
It spells ‘elegant’ but now a eulogy

Paints were chirping apart answering the prayer of my heart. In crooked manner, I broke them like I did to your love

Refused to be your strings-attached-puppet, your sour lips and roadkill fingertips, dancing like a musical ballerina in my shadow

My legs were dismembered, pretending to be bulimic, throwing up at your feet while eating Chinese with you

On 09/09/2005, away the denim shoes into the dump after we’ve broke-up, reminding me of your possessiveness

Now that they were gone, gone with the obsessive attitude. It used to be my death row. But it moulded me to be the better am.

2 thoughts on “Poem: Stiletto Named Denim

  1. Eileen黃愛玲 September 29, 2013 at 1:37 pm Reply

    Amazing work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Yangsze Choo

Likes to eat and read

bjsscribbles

“Trusting God turns the deepest crisis into the highest praise.”

Random Musings

Poetry by Pooja Alok

cantoneseinorge

Keeping Cantonese alive in Norway

Graham Lawrence

Publisher, Editor, Teacher, Trainer, Designer and Educational Administrator

Sincerely, Shalom

我除了與我的根重新連結, 也種植我的新生活。

My Hong Kong Husband

Third culture wife: Polish girl married to a Hongkonger, fresh off the airplane in Ireland. AMWF, lifestyle, culture, food, Asian fashion and a little bit of Cantonese

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

