Poem: Living Alone

Leaves falling
with tenderness
No pedestrian at the crossing
The reflection isn’t me
Weakened
after you’ve left
Your shadow is at every corner
Reminding me
Without you
I’m lonely

Getting used to live alone
Pretending that I
haven’t been in love before
Cold chilling night
heating tears to warm me
Love is over
Irretrievable
I think I can get through this
Erase the memories
you’ve promised

This love
How can it end this way?

This love
Is like a dream
I’ve messed it up
I should be awake
By now.

7 thoughts on “Poem: Living Alone

  1. Hari Qhuang October 4, 2013 at 2:12 am Reply

    I am reminded of a scene in the musical CATS, the one with the song MEMORY.
    It’s urban and a bit grim; very human, it’s like everybody who has ever been lonely can relate to this poem. 😀

    • Deborah Wong October 4, 2013 at 11:17 pm Reply

      I was listening to this song and then I got an inspiration to write this poem. Thank you for your comment. 🙂

  2. words4jp October 4, 2013 at 3:27 am Reply

    i am living this poem every single day and night.

    • Deborah Wong October 4, 2013 at 11:19 pm Reply

      Hi, thanks for your comment. So I’m speaking on your behalf then? Thanks for dropping by. 🙂

      • words4jp October 5, 2013 at 11:04 am

        Yes, you are speaking on my behalf. 😉

      • Deborah Wong October 6, 2013 at 1:10 am

        Glad to have someone who can share the similar feeling with. 🙂

      • words4jp October 6, 2013 at 4:50 am

        I thank you too.

Leave a Reply

Yangsze Choo

Likes to eat and read

bjsscribbles

“Trusting God turns the deepest crisis into the highest praise.”

Random Musings

Poetry by Pooja Alok

cantoneseinorge

Keeping Cantonese alive in Norway

Graham Lawrence

Publisher, Editor, Teacher, Trainer, Designer and Educational Administrator

Sincerely, Shalom

我除了與我的根重新連結, 也種植我的新生活。

My Hong Kong Husband

Third culture wife: Polish girl married to a Hongkonger, fresh off the airplane in Ireland. AMWF, lifestyle, culture, food, Asian fashion and a little bit of Cantonese

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

