Poem: Unbroken Valentine

You sing me French lullabies
My unbroken valentine
Bid no goodbye only welcoming
you into my world. From this moment
setting it accurately. No more a stranger

in you, I see sunshine in the twilight
within me, you find it hard to stop talking
Rooftop images of portobello mushroom
The galaxy beyond Rainbow No. Seven
Nearer than a friend, I am not yet a lover

You burned the coffee reading script
Abrasion on your delicate membrane
My lips will unfold the cure you need
Whispering love beneath your breath
Almost a lover, not yet partners-

in-crime that you can summon me
to your Victorian bed. Renaissance is your
middle name. No ocean of broken glass
Feeling naked when you’re beside me
You touch my hand and I come alive.

We still have a long journey
Within them, a curse to continue this romance
Into your eyes I see us taking slow
Standing before you, a struggling writer holding
a basket of walking denial

Your devotion, sheltering my fear
I shiver and cry when your lips on mine.
Our relationship is no cherry ice-cream
Press no forevermore hanging vanilla sky
Chinese spinning wheel shortage of cotton candy

You sing French nursery rhyme on my birthday
The shattered heart I once held hard
Give him a try
The little voice said to me.

2 thoughts on “Poem: Unbroken Valentine

  1. myhongkonghusband October 31, 2013 at 12:09 pm Reply

    I keep reading your poems and I have so many questions I would like to ask you if I have a chance to meet you. as always you write beautifuly 🙂

    • Deborah Wong October 31, 2013 at 11:08 pm Reply

      Thank you, dear. I really appreciate your words. Yes, I absolutely can’t wait for the day to come where we can sit down and have a cuppa.

Leave a Reply

Yangsze Choo

Likes to eat and read

bjsscribbles

“Trusting God turns the deepest crisis into the highest praise.”

Random Musings

Poetry by Pooja Alok

cantoneseinorge

Keeping Cantonese alive in Norway

Graham Lawrence

Publisher, Editor, Teacher, Trainer, Designer and Educational Administrator

Sincerely, Shalom

我除了與我的根重新連結, 也種植我的新生活。

My Hong Kong Husband

Third culture wife: Polish girl married to a Hongkonger, fresh off the airplane in Ireland. AMWF, lifestyle, culture, food, Asian fashion and a little bit of Cantonese

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

